As you traverse the streets and alleys of Zionsville, you are traveling through a village with many ties to its past. The rich history of Zionsville includes several locations that trace their roots to the early days of a community that has been thriving since its inception in 1852.
Here are a few photos to illustrate the connection of today’s Zionsville with its past. Several of the photo descriptions are drawn from The Village Heritage, which is a brief summary of Zionsville’s history compiled by By Joan P. Lyons of the Zionsville Times Sentinal.
Southeast Corner of Poplar and Main Streets
“In 1854, the Methodist Church moved from Eagle Village to Zionsville, building a sanctuary at what is now the southeast corner of Poplar and Main streets.”
“The present sanctuary existing today is indeed that second church building of 1885. The bell from 1914 is still used today and heard across the area each Sunday morning at 9:15 AM. The beautiful window on the north wall of the sanctuary depicting Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane was donated by Willam B. and Lillie A. Crose. This glorious window still exists today.”
“The first schoolhouse in the village was erected in 1854, across the street and north of the Methodist Church.”
Northeast Corner of Hawthorne and Second Streets
“It was followed in 1858 by the Christian Church which was dismantled at Eagle Village and rebuilt on the northeast corner of the present Hawthorne and Second streets.”
Salem United Methodist Church
The website of the Salem United Methodist Church also contains quite a bit of information about the community within its Church History (1834-1884).
“A new brick schoolhouse, known as “The Academy”, was built on Walnut Hill in 1868, site today of the Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Library. The two-story structure housed the lower grades in four classrooms on the first floor, with classes for a three-year high school conducted on the second floor.”
Zionsville Times Sentinel
“A.G. Abbott began publication, in 1860, of a local newspaper that has been in continuous publications ever since. Today the Zionsville Times Sentinel is the oldest publication with that distinction in the county.”
“This one half-acre park is nestled in the village. Abraham Lincoln, on his way to Washington, D.C. to be inaugurated to the Presidency of the United States, stopped to visit in 1861. The tranquil setting is ideal for a quiet interlude. The gazebo at the north end of the park is used for summer concerts, weddings, and other special events. Other amenities include picnic tables, benches, a fountain, and a memorial dedicated to Abraham Lincoln.”